MCLB #2

As stated in my first blog post, in the past, I have only thought of literacy as reading and writing. Now that I am learning more and transforming these ideas to include multimodality and multiliteracies, my concept of literacy is greatly changing.

Without a doubt, technology has had a huge impact on literacy. Dousay (2015) put it perfectly when she wrote,

“No longer are literacy and technology separate entities but rather intertwined elements of life and learning” (p. 27-28).

Digital storytelling connects literacy and technology in an incredible way.

I was first introduced to digital storytelling about a year ago in one of my teaching classes. We created our own quick and simple stories using technology, pictures, and music. However, these were not very interactive because one would just view the story/video and not be involved as an active participant. On the contrary, I have never seen anything like the interactive stories presented in the article, “10 Mind-Blowing Interactive Stories That Will Change the Way You See The World”, by Nayomi Chibana. After engaging with some of the stories, I was in awe. At first, I found it to be a little overwhelming because there was so much going on between the movement, sound, and narrative text. I did not know where to look or what to pay attention to. I also felt anxious that it would move onto the next part when I wasn’t ready. This was not an issue with all of the samples, yet I wonder how a child with a sensory disorder or ADHD would react. Nonetheless, I did get used to it and ultimately found it to be a great teaching tool.

I can definitely see myself using interactive stories as a way to teach my students about a topic by either letting them explore on their own or by examining a digital story together as a class – similar to a read aloud. I would also have students learn by researching to create their own stories that in turn, could be used to introduce their peers to a subject they are not familiar with.

Combining technology and literacy creates a more meaningful learning experience. In Porter’s article, “Digital Storytelling Across the Curriculum”, she describes the significance of digital storytelling, as well as various ways to use it during instruction and across all subjects.

“The digital storytelling process helps us transform isolated facts into illuminated, enduring understandings. By ‘living in the story,’ we make information come emotionally alive. By exploring ‘lessons learned,’ we go beyond telling about content to find its deeper meaning.”

With this tool, students can make sense of what they are learning and establish a foundation for remembering the most relevant and purposeful information. Moreover, among our continuous efforts to provide students with plenty of options to demonstrate literacy, digital story telling is one of many design activities that “address the needs of a wide variety of learners” (Dousay, 2015, p. 31). In such a way, students who are not particularly good at reading and writing can show their literacy through a creative outlet like digital storytelling.

What’s your story?

 

3 thoughts on “MCLB #2

  1. I really like the first quote you included about literacy and technology being intertwined because that is what is happening (or should be happening) in all classrooms. I think it is important for teachers to become familiar with multi modalities so that they can keep up with technology while also incorporating literacy. I think students will find it more engaging and more interactive, which almost always seems more appealing than reading straight from a book. Literacy needs to be active and creative. I also LOVE the picture you inserted that says “tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn.” I really connected to this quote because I am a hands on learner and I absorb information and remember things if I am putting them into action. I really enjoyed reading your post and I think that it holds a lot of truth toward the need for multimodal literacy in a classroom.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kelsey, great job on your second blog post. You did a nice job of adding in elements of multimodal blogging. I was able to connect with you when you were talking about the digital storytelling article, “10 Mind-Blowing Interactive Stories That Will Change the Way You See The World”. At first, I was confused as where to look and a bit taken back with everything that was going on. You bring up great point regarding how a student with a sensory issue or ADHD would react to this type of learning. However, that is why we must teach using multiple literacies. Those students who would be overwhelmed by something like the digital story telling may benefit from the information being presented in a different form. I like the picture you inserted with the quote, “tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn.” It nicely illustrates the meaning behind our readings. Thinking back on my experience with literacy, I wonder what it would have been like using digital storytelling and what alternative literacy activity I would have benefitted from. What form of multiple literacies would you have preferred?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree, I definitely wish digital and interactive storytelling was around when I was in school. I feel that it would have made reading and literacy more fun and engaging! Maybe more students will learn to love reading with such an interactive format.

      Like

Leave a Reply

